share this page

National Vocational Qualifications (NVQs)

NVQs are work-related, competency-based qualifications that reflect the skills and knowledge needed to do a specific job. NVQs can be an ideal qualification route for many, as they are tailored to fit in with an individual’s workload and provide evidence of professional competence in a range of work-based functions. SVQs - Scottish Vocational Qualifications - are the Scottish equivalent of NVQs.

Delivered in the workplace (or a setting that replicates the workplace), they can be undertaken as a standalone vocational qualification, or as part of an apprenticeship.

NVQs are achieved through assessment and training. Assessment is normally through on-the-job observation and questioning. Candidates produce evidence to prove they have the competence to meet the NVQ standards in particular construction functions and occupations, which range from level 3 to level 7 (the level that you would be at if you gained full chartered status). The assessor tests candidates' underpinning knowledge, understanding and work-based performance to make sure they can demonstrate competence in the workplace. 

A Level 7 NVQ Diploma (previously an NVQ5) gains full academic exemption for Chartered membership (MCIOB).  For more details contact the Education Team.


To find out more about our Vocational Qualifications


Contact us here


+44 (0) 1344 630 742


For people in the UK, local call rates apply if calling from a landline. For overseas callers, long distance calling rates will be applicable. Calls from mobiles will cost considerably higher. Please check with your local mobile operator to find out more.

CSkills Awards have taken the decision to withdraw from a recognition agreement with the CIOB.  As a result the CIOB will no longer recognise any NVQ diplomas or other awards conferred by CSkills Awards. Holders of NVQ diplomas or other awards conferred by CSkills Awards have until 1 September 2017 to apply for CIOB membership.