12 stunning architectural photographs reach international shortlist


12th December 2019

The Chartered Institute of Building (CIOB) is asking the public to help choose this year’s Art of Building Photographer of the Year as the competition now enters its final stage.

The competition run by the CIOB celebrates the creativity of the construction industry and the built world around us. Now in its tenth year, the public has until 10 January 2020 to choose their winner

Only twelve photographs made it past the judging panel out of the thousands of images submitted from more than 100 countries around the world.  In the final are photographs from the UK, Europe, Russia, South America, and the Middle East all showcasing an intriguing myriad of designs.

Speaking about the finalists Caroline Gumble, Chief Executive of the CIOB said: “This selection of photographs explores the remarkable creativity and variation of the built world, its power to affect our lives and its importance in our cultures.  The range is spectacular, and we congratulate all the finalists.”

There are two prizes on offer this year. The Judges Award receives a £1500 cash prize and the Public Choice Award which also receives a £1500 cash prize. 

For more details on the competition and to vote, log on to www.artofbuilding.org.




Saul Townsend
+44 (0) 1344 630 766

Recent News

Yesterday the Northern Ireland Statistics and Research Agency released the latest data on the value of construction output in Northern Ireland....

Published: 17th January 2020

The CIOB responds to today's ONS construction output figures for the UK.

Published: 13th January 2020

The CIOB has announced the date for their next conservation conference: Future Skills for Traditional Buildings will be held on 28 April 2020.

Published: 13th January 2020

The Benevolent Fund is teaming up with Anxiety UK to offer members a new service, delivering support to those living with anxiety or stress.

Published: 6th January 2020

CIOB congratulates the construction industry figures who have been awarded in the New Year Honours list.

Published: 2nd January 2020