See our Covid-19 updates for Membership

CIOB Building Conservation Certification Scheme

The CIOB Building Conservation Certification Scheme launched in June 2017 in response to a growing demand for ‘certified’ conservation specialists.  

Applicants will be required to demonstrate their competence against the ICOMOS (International Council on Monuments and Sites) Training and Education Guidelines based on their experience and qualifications. In addition, the Scheme requires a demonstration of competence towards sustainability and energy efficiency issues.


The Scheme is open to those who hold at least a HNC/HND in Conservation and have typically three years’ relevant experience working in the following roles:

  • Works Supervisors/Site Managers
  • Building/Quantity Surveyors
  • Design Coordinators/Managers
  • Project/Construction Managers
  • Facilities/Estates Managers


For those without a HNC/HND in Conservation or three years' relevant experience, successful completion of the CIOB Academy Understanding Building Conservation course provides eligibility to the certification scheme.


Three levels of competence: Registered, Proficient and Certified

To provide individuals at every level the opportunity of furthering their career in building conservation, the Scheme offers three levels of competence: Registered, Proficient and Certified. Each level has different entry requirements and offers a level-specific certificate. Individuals who succeed as ‘proficient’ or as ‘registered’ will receive recognition of their expertise, and at ‘certified’ level have the benefit of being recognised by a growing number of organisations that require ‘certified’ experts. The Scheme also gives an individual the opportunity to progress up through the levels as they acquire additional qualifications and experience.


The  CIOB Building Conservation Certification Scheme is endorsed by English Heritage

To find out more about our Conservation Scheme:


Contact us here


Applications and Opportunities > Conservation Scheme Enquiry