Annual General Meeting 2022

The Annual General Meeting and an Extraordinary General Meeting took place on 29 June. The results of voting by chartered members for the AGM Poll and the EGM resolutions are detailed here.

Last updated: 29th June 2022

The Annual General Meeting took place on 29 June 2022 at 1145hrs (BST), where President Mike Foy announced the results of the Poll of the Chartered members.

11.2% (2,573 Corporate members) of the electorate took part in the Poll. 

Resolution 1: To Adopt the Annual Review of the Chartered Institute of Building 2021

  Number of Votes
For 2,371
Against 57
Abstain 142

The Annual Review for 2021 was adopted.

Resolution 2: To appoint Haysmacintyre LLP as the Auditors of the Institute and authorise the Board of Trustees to agree their remuneration

  Number of Votes
For 2,226
Against 83
Abstain 260

Haysmacintyre LLP have been appointed as the Auditors of the Institute and the Board of Trustees authorised to agree their remuneration. 


The Board of Trustees for 2022/23 are:

(Brackets indicate the year of tenure completion)

*Second term


Position/Trustee Name/Year
President Michael Yam F
Senior Vice President Sandi Rhys-Jones F
Vice President VACANT
Chair of Board Steve Nitman F
Craig Battye F (2024)
Ian Brant F (2024)*
Virginia Borkoski F (2023)*
Sam Dibaj F (2025)
Paul Dockerill F (2025)
Jamie Strathearn M (2024)
Paul Young F (2023)
Phillip Beaumont F (2024)
Keith Blizzard F    (2023)
Noel McKee F   (2023)
Chris Williams F (2025)

Co-opted members of the Board:

  • Tim Barrett F
  • Ivan McCarthy F

Extraordinary General Meeting 2022

The Extraordinary General Meeting (EGM) took place on 29 June 2022 at 1130hrs (BST). As noted by the President, Mike Foy, the outcomes of the EGM would be presented to the membership on our website. 

Present at the meeting: 
51 Corporate members
18 Observers 

Resolution 1:

THAT, pursuant to and in accordance with Article 16 of the Charter, the amendments to the Bye-Laws set out in the draft duly approved by the Board of Trustees at its meeting on 27 April 2022 and subsequently circulated to the corporate members of the Institute, be approved, subject to such further amendments, if any, as may be required by the Privy Council in order to secure their approval and / or as may be accepted by a committee of the Board of Trustees set up for that purpose.

  Number of Votes
For 39
Against 1
Abstain 1

The resolution is therefore carried.

Resolution 2:

THAT in accordance with the provisions of Bye-Law 21, a new 2022 annual subscription when paid in pounds sterling is introduced for the Technical grade (TechCIOB) of £253.

  Number of Votes
For 42
Against 2
Abstain 2

The resolution is therefore carried.


Samantha Teague

Director - Governance & Institute Secretary

29 June 2022